Staycation

I like this American word. It means a vacation where you stay home. Tomorrow, my Thanksgiving holidays begin. I got tomorrow off in exchange for having worked on Sunday a few weeks ago. Thursday and Friday are off pretty much everywhere in the US.
I am not going to do anything for five days. I invited a friend over for Thanksgiving day, to listen to music. I won’t cook.
My five days off will be as irrelevant as possible.

About Jaime Silvela

My favorite chemical element is Potassium.
This entry was posted in America. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Staycation

  1. Javier says:

    Serás vago.

  2. viejecita says:

    No conocía la palabra “staycation”. Me parece una palabra estupenda.
    Y lo que describe, más estupendo todavía.

  3. Elena says:

    Acabo de ver tu ?mensaje?. ¡¡¡¡Que envidia!!!!!

  4. Miwa says:

    I love staycation too!! Check out this link – it has many funny words that made me laugh

    http://blog.oup.com/2009/11/unfriend/

  5. Janet says:

    What a great way to spend your holiday.

  6. viejecita says:

    Miwa
    I hope you dont mind my addressing you.
    I loved the link .
    The “zombie bank”, the “death panel”, the “intexticated”, are fantastic words.
    I´ve added the link to my favourites, and am going to visit again, and again.

  7. I liked “lex-appeal”.

  8. Miwa says:

    viejecita – I’m glad you enjoyed the link. Jaime, yes “lex-appeal” is so funny! I think “zombie bank” can be used in non-English language publication too.

    One of my favorites is “funemployed” – a bit like staycation isn’t it?!

  9. viejecita says:

    Tried to find “lex-appeal” but did not find it. At least, not in the offical link or the first few posts.

    Does the “lex” part come from “Lex, as in Law”, or from “lex as in Lexicon”?. The meaning would be quite different.

  10. It wasn’t defined, just used when describing “unfriend”. The quote was “Unfriend has real lex-appeal.”
    So, lex in the sense of lexicon. But I’d think that “lexicon” and “legal” would come from the same root, in the end, no?

    Funemployed is great, but, I would think, ephemeral!

  11. viejecita says:

    And what about “ex-appeal ?
    It would describe the appeal of ex-spouses, ex-roommates, ex-teachers,ex-coworkers, which, when they were only future exes, one found not appealing, but appalling.

  12. viejecita says:

    Miwa,

    Unluckily, there are “zombie banks” everywhere now.

  13. “ex-appeal”. Hmm, too elaborate.

Leave a Reply

