About food

I just watched the documentary Food Inc. I had been waiting for it a while. Years ago, I read Michael Pollan’s famous Omnivore’s Dilemma, and found it manipulative, though I appreciated the tremendous information it contained. You can read my Amazon review for detail.
Pollan has a large role in the documentary, and I like his interviews, they’re much more balanced than the book. The information in the documentary is not as abundant, and not as shocking, but shocking still for people who have not read articles or books about the American food system.

So, I do encourage you to watch Food Inc. It is dense with information, concerning, timely, at times repulsive, but also entertaining and optimistic.

About Jaime Silvela

My favorite chemical element is Potassium.
This entry was posted in America, food, green?. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to About food

  1. ktula says:

    I agree with you. I give “Food Inc.” 5 out of 5 stars.

  2. viejecita says:

    I don´t think that documentary will be coming to Spain. And even less to our neighborhood video-rental shop. They know nobody is going to pay for the privilege of watching it, and feeling guilty.

    After all, here we love to eat baby sqid (chipirones), baby eels (angulas),baby pigs (cochinillo), we eat whole eggs , not just the white, with everything; in tortilla, fried with chorizo or with morcilla, as dessert, with lots and lots of sugar (yemas, tocino de cielo…).

    All of these foods are no-nos, in our modern pro-health, and politically correct culture.
    So, I do not think I shall watch the film.

    • It’s not a documentary about what you should and shouldn’t eat, it’s about the corruption of the food industry. The book did get a bit sanctimonious, but the documentary is focused exclusively on industrial and legal practices.

  3. viejecita says:

    Sorry, my bad.

Leave a Reply

