Rules for writing

While browsing aimlessly, I happened upon an article on The Guardian on rules for writing.
I was completely taken with Elmore Leonard’s advice. Some excerpts:

3 Never use a verb other than “said” to carry dialogue […]

4 Never use an adverb to modify the verb “said” […]

5 Keep your exclamation points under control […]

8 Avoid detailed descriptions of characters […]

My thoughts exactly. I’m going to have to read this guy.

About Jaime Silvela

My favorite chemical element is Potassium.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rules for writing

  1. viejecita says:

    Those rules are great.
    But they are no use if the reader doesn’t give a hoot about what happens to the people in the book.
    For me, having good story lines, about people you like, or like to hate, is the most important condition in a book of fiction.
    I have read only a few books by Elmore Leonard, but I am sorry to say none of them fulfilled that condition.

Leave a Reply

