Where does the time go?

Something that often puzzles me is how time just slips away. No matter how much I have, it never stretches as far as I want it to. I compare against old times, and I wonder, how did I ever manage to do things before I quit watching TV? How did I manage when I commuted 90 minutes a day? How did I manage to watch a whole season of Heroes and My So-Called Life, while still keeping an apartment clean and finding time to read?

These days I’m cramming more than the usual into my weeks, and so I’m having to reconsider choices. Nobody asked me to run 40km a week, or go back to air drying clothes and ironing shirts. Nobody asked me to rekindle my interest in cooking, or to work through some meaty math books.

I suppose this all means I do have the time, and i do have the freedom. I wouldn’t complain if I didn’t. I just want more!

About Jaime Silvela

My favorite chemical element is Potassium.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Where does the time go?

  1. viejecita says:

    As I grew old my time seemed to fritter away. I realized, that I lost most of it, trying to achieve goals I had set for myself.
    Now, when I read a non fiction book, I don’t try to finish it unless I can read it with pleasure. Not any more. And I have given away most of my “serious, good for you” essays, and have put a lot of science fiction, thrillers, or detective stories in their stead, and those I devour again and again, and I am quite happy with my lowly intellectual level.
    That is one of the perks of old age. You get away with laziness, because everyone else thinks it is your Alzheimer’s fault, and they forgive you.

Leave a Reply

